Department of Economics


Department of Economics

About Department of Economics - Aligarh Muslim University


Department of Economics, Aligarh Muslim University  is one of the oldest one being established in 1920.  The highest number of students at undergraduate as well as postgraduate level chooses Economics department in AMU. The department as a tradition of imparting great knowledge to its students. Several of its students have distinguished themselves in various capacities across the globe.


Thrust Areas of Department of Economics, AMU are:


Development Economics

International Trade

Agriculture Economics

Public Finance

Environmental Economics

Monetary Economics

Industrial Economics

Population Studies



The courses offered by the Department of Economics, Aligarh Muslim University are:


B.A Hons (Economics)                  -  100 seats


M.A (Economics)                            -  65 seats (Girls & Boys)


Ph.d                                               -  As per requirement and government norms



Faculty Members of Department of Economics



Prof. Nisar Ahmad Khan - Professor and Chairman

Prof. Ashok Mittal - Professor

Prof. Nighat Ahmad - Professor

Prof. Syed Noman Ahmad - Professor

Prof. Mohd Izhar Ahmad - Professor

Prof. Md Abdus Salam - Professor

Prof. Shehroz Alam Rizvi - Professor

Prof. S M Jawed Akhtar - Professor

Prof. Md Tarique - Professor

Dr. Mohd Saeed Khan - Associate Professor

Dr. Mohd Asif - Associate Professor

Dr. Mohd Azam Khan - Associate Professor

Dr. Dastgir Alam - Assistant Professor

Dr. Jamil Ahmad - Assistant Professor

Dr. Shahina Perween - Assistant Professor

Dr. Md.Firdos Ahmad - Assistant Professor