Department of Education


Department of Education

About Department of Education - Aligarh Muslim University


Department of Education, Aligarh Muslim University  is one of the oldest one being established in 1923. It has produced some of the best teachers in all these years who have went on to serve not only in India, but in foreign countries as well. Department of Education, AMU has one of the largest reference library on Education. The department has:


Science Lab

Home Science Lab

Computer Lab

Mathematics Lab


Thrust Areas of Department of Education, AMU are:


Education of Indian Muslims.


Women's Education.


Elementary Education.


Information Technology/Computer Education.


Education of Children with Special Needs.


Curriculum Development & Evaluation


Distance Education.


Methods/Models of Teaching.


The courses offered by the Department of Education, Aligarh Muslim University are:


Diploma in Teaching                    -   20 seats


B.A Hons (Education)                   -  10 seats


B.Ed. (Education)                          -  123 seats


M.A (Education)                             -  15 seats


M.Ed. (Education)                         - 35 seats


Ph.d                                           -  As per requirement and government norms



Faculty Members of Department of Education



Prof. Mohammad Parvez - Professor and Chairman


Prof. Nabi Ahmad - Professor


Prof. Nasrin - Professor


Prof. Gunjan Dubey - Professor


Prof. Sajid Jamal - Professor


Dr. Salma Kuraishy - Associate Professor


Dr. Nakhat Nasreen - Associate Professor


Dr. Mujibul Hasan Siddiqui - Associate Professor


Dr. Poonam Chauhan - Associate Professor


Dr. Anis Jahan - Associate Professor


Dr. Zebun Nisa Khan - Associate Professor


Dr. Mohd. Abid Siddiqui - Associate Professor


Dr. Mahmood Ali - Assistant Professor


Dr. Nikhat Yasmin Shafeeq (wC) - Assistant Professor


Dr. Punita Govil - Assistant Professor


Dr. Anjum Ahmed - Assistant Professor


Dr. Mohd. Shakir - Assistant Professor


Ms. Shahla Shabeeh Shaheen - Assistant Professor


Ms. Noora Abdul Kader - Assistant Professor


Dr. Sadia Mahmood - Assistant Professor


Dr. Uzma Siddiqui - Assistant Professor


Ms. Shazia Mansoori - Assistant Professor