Department of Sociology

About Department of Sociology - Aligarh Muslim University

The creation of Department of Sociology in Aligarh Muslim University goes back to 1967, with undergraduate studies program. Just few years after its inception, the department expanded and Postgraduate as well as Research programs were started in early 1970s. As the demand for the study of Sociology surged, the undergraduate Sociology program as introduced in the Women’s College during mid - 80s.

A totally new course of Master of Social Work (MSW, 2 year PG course) was introduced in 1990s. Making it the Department of Sociology and Social Work. As of now, both the departments (Sociology & Social Work) are working independently since 2013.

Courses offered by Department of Sociology

B.A (Hons) - 40 Seats

M.A. (Sociology) - 35 Seats

Ph D -  As per requirement and Govt norms.


Faculty Members of Department of Sociology


Prof. Abdul Matin - Professor

Prof. Syed Zainuddin - Professor

Prof. Abdul Waheed - Professor

Prof. Mohd. Akram - Professor

Dr. P. K. Mathur - Associate Professor

Dr. Shereen Sadiq - Associate Professor

Dr. Sameena - Assistant Professor

Dr. Sadaf Nasir - Assistant Professor

Dr. Mohammad Swalehin - Assistant Professor

Dr. Irfanullah Farooqi - Assistant Professor

Dr. S. Nadeem Fatmi - Assistant Professor