Faculty Of Law Starts Moot Court Competition

  • Posted on: 24 February 2017
  • By: asif.mulla
Mr Justice B Amit Sthalekar Addressing At The Moot Court Competition

The Faculty of Law, Aligarh Muslim University today started the 2nd Sir Syed National Moot-Court Competition 2017, in which Hon'ble Mr Justice B Amit Sthalekar - Allahabad High Court was present as the Chief Guest.

While delivering his address, Mr Justice B Amit Sthalekar said that let us always remember the work of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan, one of the architects of modern India, who recognized the critical role of education in the empowerment of the poor and backward.

Mr Justice B Amit Sthalekar urged AMU law students to get into a litigation career and make a habit of reading case files thoroughly. He further urged the Law students to be master of facts, once they start practicing their profession.

“Litigation lawyers should have a good command over language and they should be in a habit of reading,” said Mr Justice B Amit Sthalekar adding that law students, who aspire to get into judicial services should enter into it with the intention of service to humanity.

While presiding over the Inaugural Function, AMU Pro Vice Chancellor, Brigadier S Ahmad Ali (Veteran) said, had the concept of moot-court been in his student days, he would have become a lawyer.

He added that the lawyers should cut down the costs of litigation and focus on social service as law is a noble profession.

Welcoming the 22 participating teams from various Indian universities and law colleges, Brigadier Ali urged them to appear in the moot-court competition with the spirit of participation and for doing their best.

In his welcome address, Professor Iqbal Ali Khan introduced the Chief Guest to the gathering. He pointed out to the guests and participating teams that AMU’s Faculty of Law is ranked 6th in India and is one of the oldest law faculties of the country.  

Dr Mohammad Junaid and Dr Hashmat Ali Khan are the Organizing Secretaries of the Moot-Court Competition.

Professor Javiad Talib proposed the vote of thanks. Mr Fahm Ahmad Khan and Ms Aiman Fatima conducted the programme.

Mr Piyush Gautam, Secretary, Moot Court and Mr Syed Mohd Haris, Vice President Law Society have worked tirelessly to make the event successful.

Share this